Weekly Wrap Up • April 12, 2013

Here’s went on in the world of marketing and social media for this week with our very own version of the Weekly Wrap Up… Hello Media Co. style.

happyface

 

If Facebook Made a Real Facebook Home

Oh man.  Did this ever make me laugh.  The whole animation is absolutely hilarious but the best part about this was the “steps that are installed backwards so that it is almost impossible to leave.”  Yup.  That truly is Facebook in a nutshell : )

Check out the animation here 

5 Steps to Writing Email Copy that Converts

There are always so many questions surrounding email campaigns and whether or not they are effective.  Not only did I think this article had some great points to help businesses write email copy that produces results, but some of the statistics that were demonstrated were SO eye-opening (and let’s be serious, we all know how much Morgan loves statistics).

Read the full article here 

Now You Can Buy and Sell Items Directly in Your in Your Twitter Feed With Ribbon

Well, this was a : ) but…

sadface

 

Twitter Shuts Down Ribbon’s In-Stream Payment Option Hours After Launch

It was announced earlier this week that a Ribbon launched an in-steam payment system for Twitter.  When I first heard the news, I was beyond excited!  What a great opportunity for business owners to truly maximize the potential of their Twitter feeds BUT within only two hours of launching the system, Twitter shut Ribbon’s system down.  Big loss for Twitter, Ribbon, Small Business Owners, AND people of the Internet.

Read the initial announcement for Ribbon here 

Facebook Testing Emoticons and “Status Actions”

UGH! While I understand that it is ironic that I am the queen of emoticons with all my : ) and : / and o<|: ) (that last one was clearly a Santa… : ) ) BUT I just can’t bring myself to love animated emoticons, especially when used on social networks.  Call me old fashioned, but there is something about a : and ) that just make me smile.  When I read that Facebook was testing out emoticons to be integrated into status updates, I was beyond disappointed but maybe I’m alone in this.

Learn more about Facebook’s new emoticon adventure here 


Leave a comment